Duty to Report
Iowa licensees have a lawful obligation to report certain occurrences to the Iowa Board of Medicine in a timely manner. Failure to make these reports can be grounds for disciplinary action against a licensee. The following is a list of occurrences that must be reported to the board.
Updating License Records
Change of Contact Information
A licensee shall notify the board of any change in the home address, the address of the place of practice, home or practice telephone number, or personal e-mail address regularly used by the licensee for correspondence with the board, within one month of the change. The change of address can be done by the licensee via Online Services. Once logged in, update 'View User Profile & Update Mailing Address' AND 'Manage Additional Addresses'.
Change of Name
A licensee shall notify the board of any name change within 30 days of making the name change. Licensees will need to submit a notarized or certified copy of a legal document such as a marriage license or divorce decree showing your new legal name. An unofficial copy will not be accepted.
Supervision of a Physician Assistant
A licensee who supervises a physician assistant shall notify the board of the supervisory relationship at the time of the physician’s license renewal.
Judgments or Settlements
Each licensee, including a licensee holding an inactive license, shall report to the board every adverse judgment and every settlement of a claim against the licensee in a malpractice action to which the licensee is a party. The report, together with a copy of the judgment or settlement, must be filed with the board within 30 days from the date of said judgment or settlement.
Wrongful Acts or Omissions
A licensee shall file a report with the board when the licensee has knowledge that another licensee may have engaged in wrongful acts or omissions that are grounds for license revocation or suspension or that otherwise constitute negligence, careless acts or omissions that demonstrate a licensee’s inability to practice medicine competently, safely, or within the bounds of medical ethics. The report shall be filed with the board no later than 30 days from the date the licensee acquires knowledge of the reportable conduct.
Disciplinary Action in Another Jurisdiction
Each licensee, including a licensee holding an inactive license, shall report to the board every license revocation, suspension or other disciplinary action taken against the licensee by a professional licensing authority of another state, an agency of the United States government, or any country, territory or other jurisdiction. The report must be filed with the board within 30 days from the date of the action against the physician’s license.
Child Abuse and Dependent Adult Abuse
Each licensee shall report child abuse and dependent adult abuse as required by state and federal law. Call Iowa's Child and Dependent Adult Abuse Hotline 1-800-362-2178 or local county DHS office.
Hospital disciplinary action or to avoid hospital disciplinary action
Physicians shall file with the board a written report describing any disciplinary action taken by a hospital for reasons relating to the physician’s professional competence or conduct which results in a limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation, relinquishment or nonrenewal of the licensee’s hospital privileges or any voluntary limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation, relinquishment or nonrenewal of the licensee’s hospital privileges to avoid an investigation or other hospital disciplinary action. A licensee is not required to report a limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation, relinquishment or nonrenewal of the licensee’s privileges of fewer than 10 days. A licensee is not required to report a voluntary, non-disciplinary limitation or relinquishment of hospital privileges upon the election of the licensee to narrow or change the nature of the licensee’s medical practice for reasons not related to competency or conduct. The written report and a copy of the hospital disciplinary action or the licensee’s voluntary action must be filed with the board within 30 days of the date of the action.
Hospital disciplinary action (physicians who serve as chief of medical staff)
A full and confidential report concerning any final hospital disciplinary action approved by a hospital board of trustees that results in a limitation, suspension, or revocation of a physician's privilege to practice for reasons relating to the physician's professional competence or professional conduct, or concerning any voluntary surrender or limitation of privileges for reasons relating to professional competence or professional conduct shall be made to the board by the hospital administrator or chief of medical staff within ten days of such action.