Board of Medicine

Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

Iowa Governor Branstad signed the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact; on July 2, 2015.  It is an expedited licensure process for eligible physicians to improve license portability and increase patient access to care.  On January 1, 2017, there were 19 states in the Compact: Iowa, Alabama, Arizona, Colorado,Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana New Hampshire, Nevada, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming

Interstate Medical Licensure FAQs, an Interactive Map, News and more can be found on the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact page

The Compact is governed by a Commission composed of two commissioners from each compact state. Iowa's commissioners, as appointed by the Board, are Mark Bowden, executive director, and Mary Jo Romanco, public member.

The Commission is developing processes to implement licensure portability between member states and anticipates expedited licensure through the compact will be available in the Spring of 2017.

For more information on the Compact, the Commission and/or the Board’s participation, contact the Board's Executive Director, Mark Bowden, at 515-242-3268 or


Notice of Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission Executive Committee meetings, January 10 - December 26, 2017

See schedule here

Commission Meetings:

See schedule here

Public Hearing on Proposed Amendments

A public hearing will be held at 12:00 p.m. Central Daylight Time on October 5, 2017, for proposed amendments for the Interstate Licensure Compact Commission's rules. For information and proposed amendments click here

Bylaws, Rules, Policies & Advisory Opinions





return to home page